Bloomberg News Wins British Journalism Award and Foreign Press Association Media Award

Bloomberg News has been recently honored at the 2021 British Journalism Awards and Foreign Press Association (FPA) Media Awards.

FPA Media Awards

Bloomberg’s Olivia Konotey-Ahulu won for Story About Britain by a Full FPA Member for “How London’s Property Boom Left Black Britons with Nothing.” The story appeared on the Bloomberg Equality and Wealth channels in May.

Ian Wishart, Alberto Nardelli and Tim Ross were shortlisted in the Financial/Economic story of the Year category for their Bloomberg News story “How Brexit Talks Overcame Suspicion, Resentment and Fish.”

See the full list of FPA Media Award Winners here. The ceremony took place on Nov. 29 in London. Dedicated to excellence in journalism, the FPA Awards present an opportunity for journalists to be celebrated and recognized by their international peers.

British Journalism Awards

Bloomberg’s Liam Vaughan, Kit Chellel and Ben Bain won the British Journalism Award for Crime and Legal Affairs Journalism for their in-depth reporting on The Essex Boys, a group of nine London oil traders who made $660 million of profit in a matter of days during oil’s April 2021 market rout. Read the story here and see the accompanying Bloomberg Quicktake Storylines episode here.

The awards judges said: “From Kuwait and Iraq to West Horndon, this entry exposed a colourful trail of skulduggery involving mid-boggling sums of money in a story that was expertly told.”

Bloomberg’s Kevin Crowley and Akshat Rathi were highly commended by the judges in the Energy and Environment Journalism category for their exclusive reporting on Exxon.

In addition, Bloomberg News was shortlisted for News Provider of the Year. Others Bloomberg journalists that were nominated include Chris Ratcliffe and Hollie Adams for Photojournalism, and Olivia Konotey-Ahulu for New Journalist of the year.

The British Journalism Awards celebrate the best public interest journalism produced for a UK audience. For the full list of the winners and highly commended entries that were awarded on Dec. 8 in London, visit here.